Finalists for 2016 Singapore Sports Awards shortlisted

26 May 2016

Singapore, 26 May 2016 – The Singapore Sports Awards (SSA) selection committees revealed the finalists of the 2016 Singapore Sports Awards nominees today.

Organised by the Singapore National Olympic Council (SNOC) and Sport Singapore (SportSG), and supported by the Tote Board family, the 2016 Singapore Sports Awards honour the most deserving individuals and teams in sports for the year 2015.

The main awards selection committee was chaired by Mr Tan Chuan-Jin, Minister for Social and Family Development and President of the SNOC while Dr Tan Eng Liang, Vice President of the SNOC, chaired the selection committee for the Sportsboy/Sportsgirl awards.

Mr Bernard Tan, SportSG’s Board Member, led the selection committee for the Best Sports Events awards (local and international). The Most Inspiring Sports Story of the Year selection committee was chaired by Ms Christina Cheang, Chairman of Weber Shandwick Singapore.

The winners will be announced at the Singapore Sports Awards presentation ceremony on the evening of Thursday, 23 June 2016 at the Raffles City Convention Centre.

Selection Criteria
For the main awards, the National Sports Associations were invited to nominate candidates for the awards following a set of eligibility criteria which consider factors such as the achievements of the nominees. The selection committees then decided on the finalists and cast their votes via a secret ballot to determine the winners. Independent auditing firm KPMG will then tabulate the results for announcement on 23 June.

Award Categories
Of the 11 awards, eight were finalised by the SNOC. The finalists for the three awards, Best Sports Events of the Year awards for both local and international categories, and the Most Inspiring Sports Story of the Year, were judged and managed by guidelines and criteria set by SportSG.

The award categories are:
1. Sportsman of the Year
2. Sportswoman of the Year
3. Sportsboy of the Year
4. Sportsgirl of the Year
5. Coach of the Year
6. Team of the Year (Event)
7. Team of the Year (Team Sport)
8. Sportsboy/Sportsgirl Team of the Year (Event)
9. Best Sports Event of the Year (Local)
10. Best Sports Event of the Year (International)
11. Most Inspiring Sports Story of the Year

Meritorious awards will also be presented to individual and team performances in the senior and junior categories.

Said Dr Tan Eng Liang, Chairperson of Singapore Sports Awards 2016 Organising Committee, “2015 was a banner year for Singapore sports – Team Singapore put on an inspiring performance at the 28th SEA Games and in some sports, they continued to prove their mettle on the world stage. There were indeed many worthy nominations from the National Sports Associations to consider. We are proud of what our athletes have achieved in 2015 and look forward to recognise them at the Singapore Sports Awards presentation ceremony on 23 June.”


Sportsman of the Year
1. Colin Cheng Xinru (Sailing)
2. Gao Ning (Table Tennis)
3. Joseph Isaac Schooling (Swimming)
4. Mervyn Toh Yingjie (Canoe)

Sportswoman of the Year
1. Stephenie Chen Jiexian (Canoe)
2. Feng Tianwei (Table Tennis)
3. Shayna Ng (Bowling)
4. Jasmine Ser Xiang Wei (Shooting)

Sportsboy of the Year
1. Adalia Jesse Colin (Wushu)
2. Bernie Chin Cheok Khoon (Sailing)
3. Quah Zheng Wen (Swimming)
4. Sheik Farhan Sheik Alau’ddin (Silat)

Sportsgirl of the Year
1. Jodie Lai Xuan Yi (Sailing)
2. Lin Ye (Table Tennis)
3. Joey Yeo Ruoqi (Bowling)
4. Shanti Veronica Pereira (Athletics)

Coach of the Year
1. Balazs Babella (Canoe)
2. Lee Sai Meng (Water Polo)
3. Maryna Tsimashenka (Synchronised Swimming)
4. Neo Beng Siang (Basketball)
5. Ruth Ellina Aitken (Netball)
6. Sergio Lopez Miro (Swimming)
7. Zhu Xiaoping (Gymnastics)

Team of the Year (Event)
1. Shayna Ng, Cherie Tan & New Hui Fen (Bowling Trios Team at the World Women’s Championships)
2. Joseph Isaac Schooling, Pang Sheng Jun, Danny Yeo Kai Quan & Quah Zheng Wen (4 x 200m Freestyle Team at 28th SEA Games)
3. Stephanie Chen Mei Qi, Crystal Yap Yu Hui, Lee Mei Shuang, Debbie Soh Li Fei, Natalie Chen Mei Qing, Gwyneth Goh Xiao Hui, Geraldine Chew Wei Ling, Miya Yong Hsing, Shona Lim Li Yi, Tay Aik Fen, Carolyn Rayna Buckle & Nadine Khor Mei-En (Synchronised Swimming Team Routine at the 28th SEA Games )

Team of the Year (Team Sport)
1. Basketball – 28th SEA Games Team
2. Netball – 28th SEA Games Team
3. Water Polo (Men) – 28th SEA Games Team

Sportsboy/Sportsgirl Team of the Year (Event)
1. Yeo Jiamin & Crystal Wong Jia Ying (Badminton – Asia Youth Championship)
2. Jodie Lai Xuan Yi, Daniel Hung Book Lok, James Koh Kia Ler, Muhd Daniel M Yazid & Koh Yi Nian (Sailing – Optimist World Championship)
3. Adalia Jesse Colin, Etienne Lee Zhe Xuan, Jowen Lim Si Wei (Wushu – 28th SEA Games)

Best Sports Event of the Year (Local)
1. Great Eastern Women’s Run 2015
2. DBS Marina Regatta 2015
3. Standard Chartered Marathon Singapore 2015
4. OCBC Cycle 2015
5. OSIM Sundown Marathon 2015

Best Sports Event of the Year (International)
1. BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore Presented by SC Global
2. FINA/airweave Swimming World Cup 2015 Presented by Yakult
3. HSBC Women’s Champions 2015
4. OUE Singapore Open 2015
5. 5th FINA World Junior Swimming Championship 2015

Most Inspiring Sports Story of the Year
1. “Singapore tennis player Sarah Pang takes to crowdfunding to play on pro circuit” by Teo Teng Kiat for Yahoo! Singapore
2. “Yip in race against time” by Adelene Wong for TODAY
3. “Liew shows what real class is” by Shanjayan Muniappan for TODAY
4. “From troubled to terrific” by David Lee for The New Paper
5. “Sailing brings second wind in fresh chapter” by May Chen for The Straits Times
6. “On his travels, patience is the greatest weapon” by Rohit Brijnath for The Sunday Times (The Straits Times)