Joseph Schooling and Shayna Ng awarded Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year

Shayna Ng (third from left) receiving her award from Mr Fong Yong Kian (Chief Executive, Tote Board), Mr Tan Chuan-Jin (President, SNOC) and Ms Grace Fu (Minister, MCCY).

24 Jun 2016

Singapore, 23 June 2016 – The finalists of the Singapore Sports Awards 2016 and members of the sporting fraternity gathered at the Raffles City Convention Centre this evening to celebrate and recognise the achievements of our athletes and to those who helped shaped Sporting Singapore.

Organised by the Singapore National Olympic Council (SNOC) and Sport Singapore (SportSG), and supported by the Tote Board family comprising Tote Board, Singapore Pools and the Singapore Turf Club, the Singapore Sports Awards 2016 honour the most deserving individuals and teams in sports for the year 2015.

Mr Tan Chuan-Jin, Minister for Social and Family Development and President of the Singapore National Olympic Council, graced the event as Guest of Honour. Ms Grace Fu, Minister for Culture, Community and Youth, joined Minister Tan to present the awards to the deserving winners.

The winners of the Singapore Sports Awards 2016 are:

Best Sports Event of the Year (Local) – Great Eastern Women’s Run 2015
Best Sports Event of the Year (International) – BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore Presented by SC Global
Most Inspiring Sports Story of the Year – “On his travels, patience is the greatest weapon” by Rohit Brijnath for The Sunday Times (The Straits Times)
Sportsboy/Sportsgirl Team of the Year (Event) – Jodie Lai Xuan Yi, Daniel Hung Book Lok, James Koh Kia Ler, Muhd Daniel M Yazid & Koh Yi Nian (Sailing – Optimist World Championship)
Team of the Year (Event) – Shayna Ng, Cherie Tan & New Hui Fen (Bowling Trios Team at the World Women’s Championships)
Team of the Year (Team Sport) – Netball – 28th SEA Games Team
Coach of the Year – Sergio Lopez Miro (Swimming)
Sportsgirl of the Year – Joey Yeo Ruoqi (Bowling)
Sportsboy of the Year – Quah Zheng Wen (Swimming)
Sportswoman of the Year – Shayna Ng (Bowling)
Sportsman of the Year – Joseph Isaac Schooling (Swimming)

A record of 232 recipients received Meritorious Awards.