Peter Gilchrist and Cherie Tan awarded Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year 2020

29 Oct 2020

Singapore, 28 October 2020 – The winners of the 2020 Singapore Sports Awards (SSA) were announced this evening at an awards presentation ceremony held at the Singapore Sports Hub.

Organised by the Singapore National Olympic Council (SNOC) and Sport Singapore (SportSG), and supported by the Tote Board Group, the 2020 SSA honour the most deserving individuals and teams in sports for the year 2019 and celebrate those who helped shaped Sporting Singapore.

Mr Tan Chuan-Jin, Speaker of Parliament and President of the Singapore National Olympic Council, graced the event as the Guest of Honour to present the awards to the deserving winners with Mr Edwin Tong, Minister for Culture, Community and Youth.

The winners of the Singapore Sports Awards 2020 are:

Best Sports Event of the Year (Local) Standard Chartered Singapore Marathon 2019
Best Sports Event of the Year (International) 2019 International Champions Cup Singapore Presented by AIA
Most Inspiring Sport Story of the Year “Heroes are found on all types of wheels” by Rohit Brijnath of The Straits Times
Best Sports Photo of the Year Andy Chua
Sportsboy/Sportsgirl Team of the Year (Event) Table Tennis Men’s Doubles Team –

Josh Chua Shao Han & Koen Pang Yew En

Team of the Year (Event) Swimming Women’s 4x200m Freestyle Team (2019 SEA Games) – Christie Chue, Gan Ching Hwee, Quah Jing Wen, Quah Ting Wen
Team of the Year (Team Sport) Floorball Women’s Team
Coach of the Year Louise Khng (Floorball)
Sportsgirl of the Year Amita Marie Nicolette Berthier (Fencing)
Sportsboy of the Year Koen Pang Yew En (Table Tennis)
Sportswoman of the Year Cherie Tan (Bowling)
Sportsman of the Year Peter Gilchrist (Cuesports)

180 athletes were also recognised with Meritorious awards for individual and team performances in the senior and junior categories.