Tan Chuan-Jin re-elected as SNOC President

SNOC President Mr Tan Chuan-Jin paid tribute to outgoing vice-presidents Mr Low Teo Ping (left) and Ms Annabel Pennefather (right)

05 Jun 2018

Singapore, 5 June 2018 – Mr Tan Chuan-Jin was re-elected unanimously as the President of the Singapore National Olympic Council (SNOC) at its Annual General Meeting held at Raffles Town Club today. Mr Tan stood unopposed and will be serving his second term as President from 2018-2022.

Four vice-presidents were also elected to the Executive Committee unopposed, they were: Mr Milan Kwee, Dr Benedict Tan, Dr Tan Eng Liang and Mrs Jessie Phua. Nonetheless, voting was required as a change in the SNOC constitution in 2016 to propose a staggered term of tenure took effect this term. The change allows for continuity and to prevent a change of all four vice-presidents at one AGM.

The two Vice-Presidents with the most votes will serve a four-year term while the two Vice-Presidents with the least votes will serve two years till 2020. Mr Milan Kwee and Dr Benedict Tan will serve till 2022 and Dr Tan Eng Liang and Mrs Jessie Phua will serve till 2020.

Mr Tan paid tribute to Ms Annabel Pennefather and Mr Low Teo Ping, who did not stand for re-election, for serving the SNOC as vice-presidents and also in other capacities.

The 2018-2019 SNOC Executive Committee comprises:
President: Mr Tan Chuan-Jin
IOC Member: Mr Ng Ser Miang
Vice-Presidents: Mr Milan Kwee, Dr Benedict Tan, Dr Tan Eng Liang, Mrs Jessie Phua
Honorary Treasurer: Mr Edwin Lee
Members: Ms Juliana Seow, Mr Abdul Halim Kader
(Co-opted) Members: Mr Lim Teck Yin, Mrs Tan Chen Kee, Mr Mark Chay (Chairman, Athletes’ Commission)
Secretary-General (Ex-officio): Mr Chris Chan
Assistant Secretary-General (Ex-officio): Mr Edmund Lim